When do I face jail time for a DUI in California?
- On a first time DUI, you do not face any jail time unless there is an aggravating circumstance.
- On a second DUI, the law requires that you go to jail for a minimum of 96 hours.
- On a third DUI within 10 years, the law requires that you go jail for a minimum of 120 days.
- If you get a fourth DUI within 10 years, you face possible felony DUI charges and you can possibly be sentenced to state prison for a minimum of 16 months.
Alternatives to jail in California
Fortunately, there are alternatives to doing jail time for DUI in the Los Angeles County Jail.
Alternatives include :-
- House arrest
- Work furlough and work release
- CalTrans (cleaning freeways)
- Community service
- Private jail
- Alcohol rehabilitation programs
Our DUI law office has a very successful track record of obtaining alternatives to Los Angeles County Jail which allows people to keep working and stay out of jail. Please call us immediately if you face any jail time in Los Angeles for DUI, to discuss your alternatives on (310) 285-1516.